RSS

Cheating on Pancakes

06 Sep

https://www.flickr.com/photos/joyosity/4237197599/sizes/m/in/photolist-7sqKe2-7suHwq-7wwSSL-9hdcEa-bCgtk2-cdmzj9-8itVoA-8dUgS1-9Q36ty-bYSZjj-9BptpP-byG3XP-dhPtXa-cjfreS-b4SBvF-dxBv3d-b2S6Wk-oTA1et-7C3DoT-chYRHQ-cD9qGs-abFAAw-8FYGTp-byynFB-9Mvs2b-9qo5Dn-eM7RPJ-ar9CDq-nxkhb5-dywnL4-9kYjS1-nPLhUh-nxkj6s-nPLjvU-8FvRsm-dhPtKH-cfovau-d8d5Q3-nEEdsw-7BrDxk-9MPQEA-8Ab4xR-fXkZto-aEY7Sx-fiH2Lv-nCs92B-iMWG5j/If asked to choose between pancakes and waffles, I am a pancake girl.  Give me a nice big stack of homemade buttermilk pancakes any day of the week.  Except I would be approximately the size of a house.  So, in reality, I let myself indulge every few weeks.  One of my secret wishes is to one day participate in a pancake eating contest.

I never thought I’d find another breakfast food I liked better.  And I’m not going to go so far as to say the waffles I recently had were better, but they are a definite contender.  I was visiting my brother in Utah a few months ago, and we went to a birthday party that was catered by a very popular waffle place called Waffle Love.  I don’t think I’d had a waffle in ten years, so I wasn’t expecting much.  I had taken a few bites when my nephew asked if he could share mine.  Now, I love my nephews more than anything else in this world, so it broke my heart when I had to say no (He’d already had one!  Plus he’s five. Could he really do these waffles justice? I don’t think so.).  When you come to What’s Cookin’ and try one, you’ll discover why I just couldn’t bring myself to share.  I found out that the secret to the buttery, crunchy goodness, besides butter, was an ingredient called Belgian pearl sugar.  This particular sugar is used in liege waffles, which are famous in Belgium.  The pearl sugar comes in large chunks, so you get little pockets of sweetness as you’re eating your waffle.  It’s a completely new waffle experience!

We invite you to join us for What’s Cookin’ on Monday, September 8th at 4:30 p.m.  We’ll be talking about waffles, both savory and sweet.  Please abandon all ideas you had about boring old waffles at the door.  These won’t be your Mama’s waffles, I promise!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
