RSS

A Special Place in My Heart

25 Mar

Posted by Staffmember Becky Propp:

I have been a bookworm my entire life, so it’s only natural that I now work in a library. I have lived in Azle my entire life, except for college, and the Azle Library has a special place in my heart. I grew up going to the small library off of 199, and that’s where my love of libraries began. I remember being there constantly during the summers for the Summer Reading Program. I also remember scouring the entire library with my brothers trying to find the beloved Molly, the library cat. It just thrilled my young heart to know that a cat lived there and could pop up at any time while you were looking for books. I loved that all the librarians knew us and were excited to see us every time we came in.

Now many years later, I find myself working part-time at the Azle Library. I am also currently working on my master’s degree in library science and can’t imagine a better place to learn and work. The librarians are so talented and hardworking. They are also a bundle of fun, and want to provide a positive environment for the community. I love how prominent the library is in Azle, and that people are realizing it is so much more than just books. It is a place for community, learning, and fun. I love working here for so many reasons: the wonderful people I get to meet, helping kids find books that captivate their imaginations, amazing coworkers, fun community events, and an endless supply of reading materials. The Azle Memorial Library is a very special place and I am so glad that I can be a part of it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
