RSS

Soul Mates Don’t Come Along Everyday

27 Jul

I was preparing our flyer for the upcoming Main Street Book Club, so I began leafing through the book we’re reading next month – Killer Angels by Michael Shaara.  I read this book for the first time back in an honors English class.  I remember picking it up to read to get ready for the quiz we’d have the next day, and I ended up falling in love with it while just reading the foreward.  Shaara had this unequaled ability to make his readers live his story.  He was also, simply put, a gifted writer.  He had a way of structuring sentences that captured your interest and were very detailed and intimate.  All I had to do this time was reread the forward and I fell in love with the book all over again. 

This made me think about the fact that I haven’t felt this way about a new book in some time.  I can’t think of another book that I’ve read in the past year that I took such pleasure in reading.  There have been many that I enjoyed, but none that I savored – none that I can imagine rereading again and again over the years.  One or two have come close, though – Steve Martin’s An Object of Beauty and Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler.  

I don’t know to what I should attribute this.  As a librarian, I am reading now more than I ever have.  I am also reading a wider variety of books.  Am I becoming pickier as I get older?  Do we experience literature differently now than we did when we were younger?  I’m not so sure, especially since some of my current favorite books I read only a few years ago in college.  Maybe those books really are just few and far between.  And I’ll just have to keep reading until the next one comes along!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
