RSS

A Balanced Diet

25 Jun

I blogged last week about my recent spate of thrillers, which I thoroughly enjoyed.  But after reading them, I’ll admit I felt a little guilty and promptly checked out a non-fiction book to read (review coming soon!).  It’s not at all that I think I can only read classics and that I have to hide the fact that I read any mass market fiction.  My thought is that there are so many books I want to read, a lifetime may never be enough.  So, with so many books and so little time, I think we should read whatever makes us happy.  But I think for most of us, that probably means a good balance between fluff and substance.  My book diet makes me think of my food diet – I may think that eating blueberry donuts all day would make me happy, but I know in reality it wouldn’t.  I’d tire of that pretty quickly and want to return to the other healthier foods I enjoy.  It really depends what I’m in the mood for.  Sometimes I want to settle into a cozy mystery, and nothing else will satisfy like The Cat Who series by Lilian Jackson Braun.  And then, the next week we’ll buy some fascinating biography at the library, and I won’t be able to wait to seek my teeth into it.  I love that there are some books that divert me and some that lead to really good dinner party conversation.  And there are a lot of books that do both.  And lest you think I’m giving those Cat Who books short shrift, when I was studying for the GRE, I specifically read Braun’s mysteries because Qwilleran has such a fantastic vocabulary.  I was constantly adding words to my list to memorize in preparation for the test.  So, just because a book may be easy to digest doesn’t mean it can’t teach us something, and just because a book is more challenging doesn’t mean it can’t be fun to read at the same time.  

Now I’m curious to hear about what books you’ll be choosing to read this summer – does your diet include beach reads, non-fiction, literary releases, or all of the above?  Here’s my list:  Heading Out to Wonderful, The Queen’s Lover, Bowling Avenue, The 500, and Shadow of Night.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
