RSS

Azle’s Main Street Book Club

11 May

Did you know the library has a book club?  Well, it’s true, and if I do say so myself, we tend to have a pretty good time!  Book clubbers always engage in a thought-provoking discussion, and they’re nice enough to let me get the monthly baking bug out of my system that always seems to hit around book club.  I think it’s important to have a night to look forward to each month that’s more than just going out to eat or seeing a movie.  Book club members come with great questions and discussion points, and they always help me consider aspects of the book’s characters and plot that I hadn’t before.  Plus, I think we’ve all made some good friends!

This month we’re reading what is probably the best book I read in 2011.  Laura Hillenbrand’s Unbroken has been on the New York Times bestseller list since it came out.  It’s so popular that more than a year after its release, it still isn’t out in paperback (always a sign of a very successful book).  It’s the story of an Olympic runner who becomes a POW in a Japanese prison camp after his plane is shot down during WWII.  Louis Zamperini’s story is truly incredible, and I think he’s one of the best examples of what a human being can survive and overcome.  Join us for our discussion on Tuesday, May 15th at 6:30 p.m. in the Library Community Room.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
