RSS

Who Doesn’t Like Pizza?

07 May

I didn’t make my first pizza until I was living on my own and my best friend came to visit from out of town.  I hadn’t seen a reason to make my own pizza when places like Papa John’s seemed to do it so well.  But then I made Williams and Sonoma’s caramelized onion, sage, and prosciutto pizza, and after a pie like that, well, there’s just no going back.  I have made this pizza for most of my friends and family, and they always give rave reviews.  I usually skip the prosciutto (in my futile attempt to make pizza more healthy), but I don’t find that that makes a big difference.

I recently added a new pizza crust to my repertoire.  Williams and Sonoma’s pizza crust is thick and hearty, with a good dose of cornmeal.  Well, we ordered the beautiful new cookbook My Pizza by the brilliant Jim Lahey (he’s also the one responsible for the now famous no-knead bread recipe that has gone viral), and I couldn’t resist trying his crust out.  Did I mention you don’t have to knead it?  I didn’t so much as give that dough a love tap before I was spreading it out on the pizza pan and loading it with toppings.  This recipe does require some thought beforehand because Lahey recommends that the dough rest for at least 18 hours to give it a chance to rise.  This slow rise makes for a lovely thin crust with a great flavor.  I actually tried the onions and sage on one pie, and with the other, I used mozzarella cheese with Roma tomatoes, mushrooms, and broccoli. We loved both!

Now, if your mouth is watering, and you’re envisioning sliding a piping hot cheesey pizza from your oven, you should probably come to our next What’s Cookin’ class, where we’ll be exploring the art of making great pizza.  We’re going to demonstrate how to make different crusts, talk about the various kinds of pizza pans you can use, and of course, let you taste our efforts!  We’re meeting next Monday, May 14th at 4:30 p.m. in the Community Room.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
