RSS

Cooking for People in a Hurry

05 Apr

My mother is the cook in our family, but the preparation of Sunday dinner fell to my father.  He’d get up early and peel potatoes and carrots, which he would put in the Crock-Pot, along with a pot roast, to cook while we went to church.  We’d come back to this wonderful, rich aroma that filled our home.  If there’s a better smell, I don’t know what it is.  Whenever I go back to visit and my dad makes pot roast, I instantly feel like I’m ten years old again.  

Now that I’m living on my own, I bought my own Crock-Pot and use it every Sunday to make lunch for the rest of the week.  Crock-Pots make for quick, inexpensive meals that don’t require much preparation beforehand.  It’s often a matter of defrosting, maybe browning some meat, cutting up some vegetables, and throwing in some spices.  Because you can choose inexpensive cuts of meat (that wonderful slow cooking renders even the toughest side of beef melt-in-your-mouth tender), Crock-Pot meals are often cheap. 

We’ll be showing you how to make three fabulous, tried-and-true Crock-Pot meals this Monday, April 9th at 4:30 p.m. at our What’s Cookin’ class in the Library Community Room.  You don’t want to miss this one!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
