RSS

May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favor

16 Mar

The Main Street Book Club enjoyed Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games so much when they read it back in November that they wanted to finish out the trilogy this month.  If you’ve not heard of The Hunger Games, you clearly live under a rock.  Kidding!  I still can’t remember how I first heard about the series, but I do remember not leaving my room for several hours so I could finish the first book in one sitting.  I.Could.Not.Put.It.Down. For those of you still trying to hold out, don’t!  It’s not worth it.  Even my brother, who is famous for only reading non-fiction or legal thrillers, loved the series so much that he encouraged my sister-in-law to read it.  As in Twilight, you do get your choice of teams (I’m Team Peeta), but it’s about a lot more than teenage romance.  The stories made me think about self-preservation, good and evil, and sacrifice.  Did you read The Lottery back in high school?  The creepiness and sheer horror of the situations described in The Hunger Games trilogy are reminiscent of that classic by Shirley Jackson.  I highly encourage you to join us for what is sure to be a rousing book club discussion of Catching Fire and Mockingjay on Tuesday, March 20th at 6:30 p.m. in the Library Community Room.  I also plan to test your knowledge of the books, so be prepared to vie for some good candy by answering a few trivia questions!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
