RSS

One of My Top 3 Favorite Books

13 Jan

If you ask a librarian what his or her favorite book is, you’re bound to hear about several books, not just one.  I feel disloyal choosing one over the other, which is why I usually tell people I have a top 3.  It just so happens that we’re reading one of those for our next Main Street Book Club.  Peace Like a River by Leif Enger is a book I first heard about from my brother.  I happened to find it in my college bookstore after finals week, desperate to immerse myself in something besides my economics textbook.  It’s a story you find yourself falling into and not ever wanting to leave.  Reuben, an 11-year-old boy, narrates the tale of his family trekking cross country to find his outlaw brother, Davy, who was convicted for murder.  His sister, Swede, writes cowboy poetry, and they’re both in love with the romance of the Old West.  His father, a man very close to God, regularly performs miracles, and Davy is expecting the miraculous to save his brother.

It’s hard to describe the beauty of a book like this.  When I think about this book, I find myself thinking of passages that have stayed with me now for several years.  The beauty lies in the lovely language Enger uses to describe people and their relationships with each other.  As Andrew Roe, from the San Francisco Chronicle, said, “Peace Like a River serves as a reminder of why we read fiction to begin with.”

Now doesn’t that sound like a book you want to read?  Even if you don’t get a chance to before our book club, please join us Tuesday, January 17th at 6:30 p.m. in the Library Community Room.  I promise a tasty treat to those who show up!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
