RSS

It’s a Good Old-Fashioned Pie Bakeoff!

20 Oct

I love to bake.  I suspect it’s partly because of the way I was raised – my mother believed in making everything from scratch, from chocolate chip cookies to macaroni and cheese.  I can still remember being slightly surprised that you could get mac and cheese from an orange box. 

I’ve baked a lot, but I’ve never tried a pie.  And that’s probably due to the fact that I am a fan of a lot of things, and pie isn’t one.  I’ll go in for a lemon or chocolate pie, but I loathe all fruit pie – something about the texture.  However, I like the idea of pie.  It’s homey and warm and puts me in mind of fall, my favorite season.  There’s something reassuring about a home that smells of apple and cinnamon and warm pastry. 

So, in the spirit of our upcoming Fall Festival and our Pie Bakeoff that we’re sponsoring, I’ve decided to try my hand at pie making.  I’m a little bit nervous, but I can’t put it off any longer, especially with all of the wonderful cookbooks we’ve been adding to our collection.  Some recipes demand to be tried, and so far I’ve found several in the adorable “Pies & Tarts” cookbook (the book is actually circular shaped, which gives you a great bird’s eye view of what your pie will look like) and the simple and lovely “Desserts from the Famous Loveless Cafe.” 

So if you’ve been dying to try out a new pie recipe, here’s your chance.  Or, maybe you want an excuse to make one of your tried and true favorites.  We’ll have a winner in three different categories – “Best Looking Pie,” “Most Unique Pie,” and “Best Tasting Pie.”  You can drop off your pies in the library lobby this Saturday, Oct. 22nd, starting at 11:00 a.m., and judging will take place at 1:30 p.m.  Winners will receive a certificate and have the satisfaction of knowing that they possess some seriously stellar pie making skills.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
